We received the following question regarding substitutions during the last five minutes of the game:
During the last five minutes of regulation the Team leading has a sub checked in, before the ball is out of play on a throw in the losing Team has a Sub check in. Both teams have subs checked in and the ball goes out of touch for a throw in. Should the clock be stopped?
C. Cliff McCrath, NISOA’s Executive Director responds, “Clock stops! Point #1: The leading/winning team is subbing therefore the last 5 minute rule will apply. 2. Regardless when the sub gets to the ‘table’ the stopping action occurs when the actual entry occurs – if the clock has reached 5:00 or less IT STOPS!”
If you have a question about the NCAA Soccer Rules, please check out our “Ask a Rules Question” page.