Video Instruction – Offside
NCAA Soccer Rule 11.3.3 states that a player shall not be declared offside if the player receives the ball from a deliberate play from a defender. Rule 220.127.116.11 states that a “deliberate act is one in which a player chooses to act, regardless of the outcome of that action. This deliberate act is neither a reaction nor reflex. A deliberate action may result in the opponent benefiting from the action.”
Judging whether the defender makes a deliberate play on the ball requires both the referee and the assistant referee to pay close attention and be prepared to make the correct decision.
You may wish to turn down the volume of the embedded video before playing it.
When you select one of the decision choices below, you will unlock the "Get the NISOA decision" button.
While we generally welcome comments on our materials, please do not post your opinion/decision in the comments area. Commenting should be limited to the value of the clip or requests for clarification. Thank you for your cooperation.
NISOA Official Decision
The attacking player shall not be penalized for offside in this case.
Here are the most up to date considerations of Deliberate Play vs Deflection:
DELIBERATE PLAY vs DEFLECTION
- Player goes to play the ball => ACTION - Conscious
- Time, Options
- Control of the body (Not the outcome of the action).
- Distance, Space
- Ball goes to the player => REACTION - Instinctive.
- NO Options, surprised, unexpected.
- NO Control of the body.
- Never expect players doing nothing.
This is a great example of a deliberate play... an action, which is a conscious decision to play the ball.
As opposed to a deflection... a reaction, which is more of an instinctual decision to play the ball.
This ball comes from distance and the player has clear sight of the ball which makes this an expected ball, and he has control of his body.