Video Instruction – Offside Decision
Offside decisions can lead to critical match incidents such as allowing or disallowing a goal. The officiating team must work together to get these decisions correct.
We strongly suggest you have a copy of the NISOA considerations
available as you are reviewing this clip. The NISOA Official decision will reference the considerations and help you better understand the decision making process. When you select one of the decision choices below, you will unlock the "Get the NISOA decision" button.
While we generally welcome comments on our materials, please do not post your opinion/decision in the comments area. Commenting should be limited to the value of the clip or requests for clarification. Thank you for your cooperation.
NISOA Official Decision
The attacking player shall not be penalized for offside in this case.
This action is very similar to our last video analysis of offside.
This is a deliberate play by the defender. The ball comes from a relatively long distance. The defender has an unobstructed view of the ball and time to make a play on it. The defender makes a conscious decision to play the ball.
NCAA Soccer Rule 11.3.3 states that a player shall not be declared offside if the player receives the ball from a deliberate play from a defender. Rule 220.127.116.11 states that a "deliberate act is one in which a player chooses to act, regardless of the outcome of that action. This deliberate act is neither a reaction nor reflex. A deliberate action may result in the opponent benefiting from the action."
Note the reaction of the coach and how the referee and assistant referee handle the incident. The officials demonstrate excellent teamwork and communication while making sure the coach does not interfere with their conversation.